Motivational Tip: Accepting your natural hair and beauty

Accepting your natural hair and beauty:

For many years people have been trying to change what God has made perfect. I don’t know what is happening all around the world apart from what I see on the television, read on the internet or hear on the radio. I can therefore only speak about what happens in my neck of the woods, here in the Caribbean and, more specifically, in Antigua and Barbuda where I live.

To me most of us here in the Caribbean are still unknowingly mentally enslaved, a consequence of the days of slavery under the UK rule. We believe that if something is from another country then it is better, or the lighter your skin the more beautiful you are, or the longer your hair the “nicer” or “better” it is, and for me that is mental slavery.

Why is it that people cannot accept and appreciate what they have or the way they are made? I am not saying that everybody should be natural or that you should not wear makeup, colour your hair, shave your leg, wax your eyebrows, pierce your ears, etc. because I do not have a problem with the way anybody chooses to wear their hair or skin and each person has their own decisions to make. Everybody has a reason for doing what they choose to do.

I am not criticizing anybody who chooses to wear their hair chemically straight, wear a weave or a wig, or just be natural, but it’s really sad when somebody tells me that my hair is beautiful BUT it could have been better if it were relaxed (permed). WHY!!! Why should another person or society determine what is beautiful or acceptable for me.

I love my hair and all the curls, I would never be jealous of someone else’s hair just because it’s straighter or longer. It also makes me sad when somebody asks me if I am mixed just because my hair has a looser curl pattern to it. I am proud to be the way I am and no I am not mixed.

So don’t judge me because of the colour of my skin or the texture of my hair. I love the way I was made, every curve on my body, every curl in my hair and I’m happy with it so why aren’t you?

My point is that we should all learn to accept the way we were made and love every aspect of ourselves. However you choose to wear your hair or carry yourself, do it with pride, without criticizing other persons because of how they choose to present themselves. Self love is an expression of freedom. Love yourselves people!

 

6 thoughts on “Motivational Tip: Accepting your natural hair and beauty

  1. Congrats on your first post. I think we as humans are always trying to be better and sometimes we get lost in the act of bettering ourselves that we forget who we really are. I love and accept me as I am, flaws and all. Good article!

Leave a Reply

