My favourite products for 2013

What a great year 2013 had been for me and my hair. I am constantly learning new things to improve myself and the health of my hair. It has been 2 1/2 years since I last placed permanent colour in my hair and my hair has really grown since then but I still have colour on the ends :-/ which I will be clipping off in a few months. I decided to grow out the colour because the process caused my hair pattern to change and my hair was constantly dry and brittle.

There were several products that I used over the past year, both on my hair and skin, some new and others I have been using for a while. I would like to share with you however my six favourite products that I used 2013

1. Water

Enough cannot be said about water, you hear about it everyday. If you hope to obtain a healthy mane, clean, well moisturized hair is a must. Many times I would go an entire week with simply sprizing my hair with water in order to keep it moisturized, either because of time constraints or because no other product is required. Water has become my number one friend, from wash day to daily moisturizing my hair. A little water can go a long way and does make a big difference.

2. Herbal Essence Hello Hydration conditioner

This product is not new to me but it has become one of my staple products in my hair regimen. I use this conditioner as a detangler on damp hair, as an instant rinse out conditioner (which it is) and also as a deep conditioner with and with out heat. Although it is not designed as a deep conditioner, it does help in keeping my hair super moisturized and soft. I also use it as a cowash and I even used it at times as a leave in conditioner with wash and goes. So for me it is an all round conditioner. It has a lot of slip, and just like water, a little goes a long way, it is very moisturizing, it is inexpensive and it smells great.

3. As I am coconut cowash cleansing conditioner

I have been using this cowash for over a year and I am very impressed with this product.  Since following the curly girl method a few years ago, I have grown closer to this product. It is light weight, does a great job at cleaning my hair and scalp without suds, I am able to detangle my hair with the product in it and it is very moisturizing. To learn more about this product see my product review post on the As I am coconut cowash ——-> https://antiguabarbudagirl.wordpress.com/2013/05/13/product-review-as-i-am-coconut-cowash-cleansing-conditioner/

4. Raw shea butter

This product is an overall product for me as well because I use it on both by hair and skin and I also use it in my home made deodorant and whipped shea products. Although this product is a butter, it is not heavy on my hair once I’m not too heavy handed with it. It is quite moisturizing and it also has helped reduce blemishes on my skin. I have been using shea butter for several years and I still go back to it, even after trying other products.

5. Grapeseed oil

This is my all time favourite oil to use. I use it to seal in moisture in my hair and skin. It keeps my hair and skin well moisturized, soft to the touch without the greasy feeling. Grapeseed oil is light weight with a very subtle scent that quickly disappears after applying it in the hair or on the skin.

6. Eco styler gel (clear)

Eco styler gel comes in different types, with protein (black), pink, blue, with olive oil (green), yellow, with Argan oil (dark yellow), crystal (clear). I have used most of them but my favourite of them all would have to be the clear eco styler gel. It does not make my hair hard although it keeps down the fly a ways and although there is some amount of product build up with continuous use, it does not flake and it is easy to rinse out.

DSCN2979

So that’s it, feel free to share some of your favourite products.

You can also watch the video below

Leave a Reply

