Motivational Tip: Divided by strands

Martin Luther King Jr. said in his “I have a dream speech on the 28th August 1963, “All men are created equal.” Before that time even until now, people have been quick to point out the differences in each other that further divide them rather than to see the similarities that bring them closer together. And our hair is the same when it comes to being different in many ways.

Why are women AND men so fascinated over hair, their hair and other people’s hair, fake hair, coloured hair, natural and relaxed hair, short and long hair. We spend millions of dollars getting it styled, cutting and trimming it, adding colour and just to maintain it the way it is. Especially now, there has been a surge in the natural hair community worldwide, women every where spend thousands of dollars every year on a variety of hair products and accessories . It is certainly true that we can sometimes identify a certain ethnicity or group of persons from the way they carry their hair or from its very appearance. Although we do not have any control with the hair we were born with, I agree that our hair is part of our heritage, telling many stories. It is a part of who we are, it forms a portion of us. BUT our hair does NOT define us, it does not define our personality, it does not make us good or bad, but it is merely an accessory that compliments the person we are on the inside.

I can’t tell you how many time over the years, persons have asked me about my ethnicity. If we were to take a journey into our past and take a glimpse into history, we were taught that our ancestors who originated from the African continent were born into slavery and many made the long treacherous voyage to the Caribbean on slave ships where they worked the sugar plantation and picked cotton among other things. To make a long story short, the plantation owners went with the female slaves and these women bore their children. If we want to be technical out race and where we came from, then we are all of a mixed culture and race and nothing is wrong with that. I am pretty sure that if we were to trace our family tree, we would find ancestors of European, Asian and of course African decent and who knows from where else.

While I was studying in University, I was given the title of ‘coloured’ by some of my African colleagues. Before that time I never heard of that term and I did not know the definition of being coloured. I was soon taught that according to them because of the colour of my skin and more importantly the texture of my hair, that I was of a mixed culture, and there is probably some truth to that. As far as I see I am Caribbean, I am Antiguan. My efforts to convince them that we were all cut from the same cloth were in vain. They adamantly stated that I could not be from the same blood line because of my hair texture in particular. Back then I used to get very upset about the whole situation but now I simply smile because it is sad that people no longer take the time to get to know someone and are always quick to judge another person because of their appearance. You see we as Caribbean and black people are special and more so because of our hair. It would make this blog unbearable long if I were to explain in great details about the uniqueness of the curls, kinks and coils of our hair. Our hair is full of so many different textures on one head telling many stories with every twist and curl. We can choose to be curly or straight within hours if we so desire.

The point is not to convince you or even myself of who I am or where I came from because of that I am sure, because I consider myself to be apart of the black race. The point I want to bring across is that I hope that we would not be quick to judge a person because of the colour of their skin or of the texture of their hair.

Matthew chapter 7, verse 1 & 2 states “Do NOT judge, so that you may NOT be judged. For the judgment you make you will be judged and the measure you give, will be the measure you get.”

Martin Luther King Jr. had a dream in 1963 for people of every class and creed to live in love and harmony. 50 years later and we are still divided by a single strand, by the colour of our skin and by the texture of our hair. And in the words of Mr King himself “I have a dream that we will not be judged by the colour of our skin [and I would like to add the texture of our hair] but by the content of our character.”

4 thoughts on “Motivational Tip: Divided by strands

  1. Very nice post and well articulated. Unfortunately we live in a world where people don’t take time to know a person before they judge. They make assumptions without knowing the facts. I don’t waste time on those individuals. I just write them off as ignorant and go on about my business.

  2. Great post! My mother is from Africa, my father is from Europe and I am very very proud of who I am and where I come from. I can never understand why some people seem to want to “categorize” others, e.g. their background, who they are etc and seem to want to say they know you/know about you better than you know yourself. I also do not get why people who decide that someone has an xyz background is a bad thing. It is like they say “Oh no, trust me I know you have xyz as your background” or “Oh no, you do not “belong” with us”. So what?! Who are they to determine who you are? Plus I would rather not “belong” to something that makes judgement calls based on what someone “believes” is the truth (even though it is just THEIR truth). Hair, skin tone etc only go so far….the more important stuff is character and who you are as a PERSON. That is 100x more important (in my opinion) than if you “look like” this…that or the other.My sister looks a lot more like my mother and I look a lot more like my father and some people we meet will want us to “prove to them” that we “really” have an African mother and European father. They are more taken back with the European father thing especially since my sister looks a lot more like my beautiful mother. It also use to get to me and I would want to argue with anyone who asked/doubted. I just smile and walk away now since I have nothing I need to prove to anyone and I see nothing wrong with my background! Again great post!

Leave a Reply

